Mark Blaug

This academic prize, awarded by the Erasmus Journal for Philosophy and Economics, is intended to promote and reward the best of young scholarship in philosophy and economics.

The prize is named in honour of Professor Mark Blaug (1927-2011), a founder of the field of philosophy and economics who made a tremendous scholarly contribution to many areas of the history and philosophy of economics [Read EJPE’s Special Issue on Mark Blaug’s work]. Mark Blaug’s generosity and commitment to Young Scholars was recognized by all who knew him.

The prize includes a cash sum of 500 Euros.

2018 Prize open for submissions

To qualify for the Mark Blaug Prize the author has to be a Young Scholar, defined as someone who:

  • is enrolled as a graduate student, or
  • graduated during 2016 or 2017

You may be asked for evidence of your eligibility.

Young Scholars should submit a single-authored article for publication in EJPE in the usual way before the end of December 2017, and mention that you would like to be considered for the prize. Co-authored papers where all authors are Young Scholars are also eligible. Prize submissions should not include articles previously published or under consideration elsewhere. For more information about submissions, see the EJPE Call for Papers.

Articles that pass peer-review and are accepted for publication will be considered by a committee of experts and the winner will be announced in mid-2018.

Previous Prize Winners

Another prize named in honour of Mark Blaug: From 2014 the Foundation for European Economic Development will award an annual Mark Blaug Student Essay Prize for the best critical essay on modern economics by a (recent) undergraduate. The two prizes are entirely independent.